Senior Leadership Panel dual logos
NERIS Senior Leader Panel Forms to Steer the Future of Emergency Response

UL’s Fire Safety Research Institute (FSRI), in collaboration with the U.S. Fire Administration (USFA), is pleased to announce the formation of the Senior Leadership Panel for the National Emergency Response Information System (NERIS).

Comprising seasoned leaders from government, the fire service, and the private sector, this panel is dedicated to enhancing emergency response in the United States. At its inaugural virtual meeting on November 21, 2023, the panel aligned goals, clarified roles, and set a course for future engagement. 

Drawing on its expertise to address the changing needs of the emergency response community, the panel’s input will help chart the course for implementing NERIS. The panel's primary responsibilities are threefold: 

  1. Thought Leadership: Offer guidance to tackle current challenges in emergency response data
  2. Connection and Unity: Facilitate collaboration between the USFA, NERIS teams, and fire services at Federal, State, Local, Tribal, and Territorial (FSLTT) levels to foster a cohesive approach
  3. Advocacy: Promote NERIS across national and state fire service organizations, enhancing outreach and support
“The Leadership Panel is a key component in developing and implementing NERIS. It involves more than just steering a project; it requires a deep understanding of the actual challenges emergency responders face and a desire to find effective solutions. NERIS must connect practical knowledge with up-to-date technology to be truly effective. This connection will ensure the platform is not just an improved system, but one informed by the real-life experiences of its users. As leaders, our aim is to provide a tool that truly elevates emergency service capabilities and meets fire service needs.”

-US Fire Administrator Dr. Lori Moore-Merrell

NERIS Senior Leadership Panel Members

Name Organization 
Kevin Sehlmeyer Michigan State Fire Marshal Office
Mike Morgan

Colorado State Fire Marshal Office

Mary Cameli

Mesa Fire Department

Kevin Quinn National Volunteer Fire Council (Union Fire District)
Roger Krupp Clarendon Hills Fire Department
Birgitte Messerschmidt National Fire Protection Association (NFPA)
Steven Manthei U.S. Department of Interior (DOI)
William Schoonover

U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT)

Dave Sampson American Property Casualty Insurance Association (APCIA)
Pat Morrison International Association of Fire Fighters (IAFF)
Rob Santos U.S. Census Bureau
Adam Thiel

Philadelphia Fire Department